★ Summer reading at the Roanoke County Library: Plus Chipotle benefit night Tues., June 20

countylibSummer at the Roanoke County Public Library includes a full Summer Calendar of Events for kid and teens, and some good opportunities for adult book talk.

First: sign up at the circulation desk of any county library branch for the all-ages Reading By Design summer reading program. It runs through August 4.

Then how about attending a book discussion at a branch of the library that’s new to you. Make some new acquaintances. Reread a favorite book or sample something new. Here are some options for joining in the discussion:

  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, Fri., June 16, 2:30 – Bent Mountain
  • The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett, Tues., July 11, 7 PM – South County
  • On Borrowed Time by Jenn McKinlay, Tues., July 1, 6:30 PM – Glenvar
  • Woman of God by James Patterson, Thurs., July 6, 2 PM – Vinton
  • Tapestry of Fortune by Elizabeth Berg, Wed., July 12, 2 PM – Vinton
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, Wed., July 12, 6:30 PM Glenvar
  • The King’s Grave by Phillipa Langley, Thurs., July 27, 10 AM – South County
  • Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones, Tues., Aug. 1, 7 PM – South County
  • Dimestore by Lee Smith, Thurs., Aug. 3, 2 PM – Vinton
  • A Root Awakening by Kate Collins, Tues., Aug. 8, 6:30 PM – Glenvar
  • A Man Called Ove by Frederick Backman, Wed., Aug. 9, 2 PM – Vinton
  • A Room with a View by E. M. Forster, Wed., Aug. 9, 6:30 PM – Glenvar
  • The Risk Pool by Richard Russo, Thurs., Aug. 24, 10 AM – South County

And since all that reading makes you hungry:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s