★ Roanoke County Libraries release fall book club and events schedule

countylogocut2The fall events directory for the Roanoke County Libraries has been released, and there’s a lot happening, including a series of welcome receptions at each of the libraries and several author talks. See the full events listing here.

Readers: here’s an opportunity to read along and discuss a new or favorite book with some fellow bookworms. All of these book groups are open to the general public. And there’s no long term commitment.  So what are you waiting for? Try out a book group.

  • Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History by Laurel Thatcher; South County; Tues. Sept. 5, 7PM
  • Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes; Vinton; Thurs., Sept. 7, 2 PM
  • The Long Way Home by Louise Penny; Wed., Sept 13; 2 PM
  • Skinwalkers by Tony Hillman; Glenvar; Wed., Sept 13, 6:30 PM
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman’ Bent Mountain; Fri. Sept. 22, 2:30 PM
  • The King’s Grave by Phillippa Langley & Michael Jones; South County, Thurs., Sept. 28, 10 AM
  • The Sybil in Her Grave by Sarah Caudwell; South County; Tues., Oct 3, 7 PM
  • The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan; Vinton; Thurs., Oct. 5, 1 PM. Bring a dish for a potluck!
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker; Glenvar; Wed., Oct. 11, 6:30 PM
  • Mischling by Affinity Konar; Vinton; Wed., Oct. 11, 2 PM
  • The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson; South County; Thurs, Oct. 26, 10 AM
  • The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; Bent Mountain; Fri., Oct. 20, 2:30 PM
  • Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón; South County; Tues. Nov. 7, 7 PM
  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman; Wed., Nov. 8, 6:30 PM
  • Small Great Things by Jodi Picot; Wed., Nov. 8; 2 PM
  • The Book of Joy by Desmond Tutu and The Dali Lama; Bent Mountain; Fri., Nov. 17, 2:30 PM

  • The Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain; thurs., Nov. 30, 10 AM
  • Orange, Vol. 1 by Ichigo Takano; South County; Tues., Dec. 5, 7 PM
  • Commonwealth by Anne Patchett; Bent Mountain; Fri., Dec. 15, 2:30 PM

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s